Jeanius Thoughts: 2012/54th Annual Grammy Predictions

The Grammy Awards are coming up in tomorrow, and while I am upset with some of the nominees, I am a professional so I will bring you my predictions for the show. The 54th Annual Grammy’s go down tomorrow, February 12, 8/7c on CBS. Adele is the runaway favorite going into the night, and will definitely walk away with the most trophies tomorrow night as the artist with the most nominations, Kanye West, is going against himself in several categories.

Since I don’t know about all of the over 100 categories I will keep my predictions to “The Big 4,” which are the general categories, Pop, R&B, and Rap.

The Big 4

Record Of The Year

  • “Rolling In The Deep” – Adele
  • “The Cave” – Mumford & Sons
  • “Grenade” – Bruno Mars
  • “Firework” – Katy Perry
  • “Holocene” – Bon Iver

This is a simple one right here, there is a good possibility that Adele will run the table at the Grammy’s, her album was the highest selling album not only in the U.S., but also worldwide. Top 10 singles, an album that spent most of the year in the Top 10. Adele is not nominated for the most awards on the big night, but there is no doubt that she will win the most awards.

Predicted Winner: “Rolling In The Deep” – Adele
Preferred Winner: “Rolling In The Deep” – Adele

Album Of The Year

  • Doo-Wops & Hooligans – Bruno Mars
  • Wasting Light – Foo Fighters
  • Born This Way – Lady Gaga
  • Loud – Rihanna
  • 21 – Adele

This is a pretty weird category as four of the five nominees are also nominated for the Best Pop Album category. A few months back I posted about a problem I had with the inconsistency of the Grammy’s, this year that clearly won’t happen as I expect Adele to win both Album of the Year and Best Pop Album. I don’t know how Rihanna got put in this category, but I’ve already expressed my opinions on that issue. I am still shocked that Kanye West didn’t get nominated for this with ‘Twisted Fantasy,’ considering it was the runaway, no pun intended, choice for best album of 2010.

Predicted Winner: 21 – Adele
Preferred Winner: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West

Song Of The Year

  • All Of The Lights – (Performed by: Kanye West)
  • The Cave – (Performed by: Mumford & Sons)
  • Rolling In The Deep – (Performed by: Adele)
  • Grenade – (Performed by: Bruno Mars)
  • Holocene – (Performed by: Bon Iver)

A lot of people don’t know the difference between Song and Record of the Year: Song of the Year is an award for the song as a whole, Record of the Year is for the song writers. So if an artist is nominated for Record of the Year and didn’t write the song, they technically didn’t win anything. Against my better judgment I will go with Kanye West  for the win here, as a consolation prize for being snubbed for Album of the Year,

Predicted Winner: Rolling in the Deep – Adele
Preferred Winner: All Of The Lights – (Performed by: Kanye West)

Best New Artist

  • The Band Perry
  • Nicki Minaj
  • Bon Iver
  • J. Cole
  • Skrillex

This one is one that most people expect to be a slam dunk for Nicki Minaj, but I don’t see it that way. Bruno Mars got screwed here, because he won a Grammy last year for Best Male Pop Performance, for “Just the Way You Are,” but his album, Doo-Wops & Hooligans, came out too late for him to be nominated last year. Otherwise he would be the slam dunk choice here. Bon Iver is the only artist here who is nominated for any of the other Big 4, Record and Song of the Year, so I pick him to win here. I also feel as though his work on Kanye West’s, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, will make his win not seem like an Esperanza Spalding moment when Nicki Minaj doesn’t win here.

Predicted Winner: Bon Iver
Preferred Winner: Bruno Mars

Pop

Best Pop Solo Performance

  • “Someone Like You” – Adele
  • “Yoü And I” – Lady Gaga
  • “Grenade” – Bruno Mars
  • “Firework” – Katy Perry
  • “F***in’ Perfect” – Pink

Bruno Mars, Pink, and Lady Gaga who would usually be favorites in any category are just in the wrong place at the wrong time this year. Bruno and Gaga are literally against Adele in every category they are up for, and it seems like they are going to get steamrolled by a runaway train by the name of Adele.

Predicted Winner: “Someone Like You” – Adele
Preferred Winner: “Someone Like You” – Adele

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

  • “Moves Like Jagger” – Maroon 5 & Christina Aguilera
  • “Body And Soul” – Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse
  • “Pumped Up Kicks” – Foster The People
  • “Dearest” – The Black Keys
  • “Paradise” – Coldplay

I am kind of upset that “Good Life,” by One Republic wasn’t nominated here, as that was a pretty dope record. Anyway, while “Moves Like Jagger,” is the biggest hit out of the bunch and I would like to see them win, generally artists do pretty well at the Grammy’s after they pass. Also consider that Amy Winehouse was a “Grammy favorite,” as I like to call them, it only makes sense to go with them for the win.

Predicted Winner: “Body And Soul” – Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse
Preferred Winner: “Moves Like Jagger” – Maroon 5 & Christina Aguilera

Best Pop Vocal Album

  • Doo-Wops & Hooligans – Bruno Mars
  • The Lady Killer – Cee Lo Green
  • Born This Way – Lady Gaga
  • Loud – Rihanna
  • 21 – Adele

Mama, there goes that wo(man), this is a play on a line Mark Jackson used to use when he was doind announcing NBA games, I think it fits pretty well here. Nuff said.

Predicted Winner: 21 – Adele
Preferred Winner: 21 – Adele

Best Dance Recording

  • “Raise Your Weapon” – Deadmau5 & Greta Svabo Bech
  • “Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites” – Skrillex
  • “Save The World” – Swedish House Mafia
  • “Sunshine” – David Guetta & Avicii
  • “Barbra Streisand” – Duck Sauce
  • “Call Your Girlfriend” – Robyn

David Guetta is without a doubt the face of dance music right now, and has lead the charge of dance music moving into the mainstream here in the U.S., that alone may warrant him winning this award here. This might be a bit tighter than people expect though, as there are some pretty good nominees here.

Predicted Winner: “Sunshine” – David Guetta & Avicii
Preferred Winner: “Sunshine” – David Guetta & Avicii

Best Dance/Electronica Album

  • Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites – Skrillex
  • Nothing But The Beat – David Guetta
  • Body Talk, Pt. 3 – Robyn
  • Zonoscope – Cut/Copy
  • 4×4=12 – Deadmau5

Once again, this is Guetta’s award to lose, Nothing but the Beat, was widely successful. It was one of the Top 25 albums in sales worldwide and also produced his highest performing song on the charts, “Without You,” (ft. Usher). This album also featured some of the heaviest hitters in the music industry; (Usher, Nicki Minaj, Chris Brown, Lil Wayne, Jennifer Hudson, and more). Sounds like a winning combination to me.

Predicted Winner: Nothing But The Beat – David Guetta
Preferred Winner: Nothing But The Beat – David Guetta

R&B

Does anybody still even care about R&B Music anymore? It barely gets any radio airplay anymore, and what I thought was the best R&B Song of 2011, Miguel’s “Sure Thing,” which was also the top song for 2011 on the R&B/Hip Hop Billboard charts, didn’t eve get a nomination. Anyway let’s get on with it.

Best R&B Performance

  • “Not My Daddy” – Kelly Price & Stokley
  • “Is This Love” – Corinne Bailey Rae
  • “Far Away: – Marsha Ambrosius
  • “You Are” – Charlie Wilson
  • “Pieces Of Me” -Ledisi
Honestly I never heard any of these songs besides Marsha Ambrosius’ “Far Away,” but I believe I know how Grammy voters think so I will go with Corinne Bailey Rae, because she is a Grammy favorite, which is a term you’ve heard before.

Predicted Winner: Corinne Bailey Rae – “Is This Love”
Preferred Winner: Miguel – “Sure Thing”

Best Traditional R&B Performance

  • “Fool For You” – Cee Lo Green & Melanie Fiona
  • “Surrender” – Betty Wright & The Roots
  • “Sometimes I Cry” – Eric Benét
  • “Good Man” – Raphael Saadiq
  • “Radio Message” – R. Kelly
Man R&B music has really fallen when R. Kelly, while he might have had some we’ll call them “issues” in his past, comes out with new music and it goes under the radar. Anyway, Mr. Cee Lo Green is on somewhat of a hot streak coming off the success of “Forget You,” so I will go with him for the win here.

Predicted Winner: Cee Lo Green & Melanie Fiona – “Fool For You”
Preferred Winner: Cee Lo Green & Melanie Fiona – “Fool For You”

Best R&B Song

  • “Fool For You” – (Performed by: Cee Lo Green & Melanie Fiona)
  • “Not My Daddy- (Performed by: Kelly Price & Stokley)
  • “Far Away” – (Performed by: Marsha Ambrosius)
  • “You Are” –  (Performed by: Charlie Wilson)
  • “Pieces Of Me” – (Performed by: Ledisi)

This whole category has a few Grammy favorites, and will definitely not be shown on the show, so I’ll go with the song that sticks out to me the most just by reading the title.

Predicted Winner: Marsha Ambrusius – “Far Away” 
Preferred Winner: Marsha Ambrusius – “Far Away” 

Best R&B Album

  • Second Chance – El DeBarge
  • F.A.M.E. – Chris Brown
  • Love Letter – R. Kelly
  • Pieces Of Me – Ledisi
  • Kelly – Kelly Price
If this award is given out on TV, the winner is easy, it will be Chris Brown. They generally try and give away at least one award from each genre so I assume that’s what they’ll do, not of the other names will bring enough name value to the award, besides R. Kelly, but I doubt anybody will be celebrating him anytime soon.

Predicted Winner: Chris Brown – “F.A.M.E.”
Preferred Winner: Chris Brown – “F.A.M.E.”

Rap

Best Rap Performance

  • “Look At Me Now” – Chris Brown, Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes
  • “Moment 4 Life” – Nicki Minaj & Drake
  • “The Show Goes On” – Lupe Fiasco
  • “Black And Yellow” – Wiz Khalifa
  • “Otis” – Jay-Z & Kanye West

This is a pretty tough category, on paper, but Jay Z, Kanye West, Eminem, and Lil Wayne rule the rap awards at the Grammy’s. I wouldn’t be surprised if any these won, I want to pick “Look At Me Now,” but I can’t see a Chris Brown song winning, Best Rap Performance, and I believe that Young Money’s radio dominating duo will, together, win their first Grammy’s tomorrow night, and I’m fine with that.

Predicted Winner: “Moment 4 Life” – Nicki Minaj & Drake
Preferred Winner:  “Otis” – Jay Z & Kanye West

Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

  • “All Of The Lights” – Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie
  • “I’m On One” – DJ Khaled, Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne
  • “I Need A Doctor” – Dr. Dre, Eminem & Skylar Grey
  • “Motivation” – Kelly Rowland & Lil Wayne
  • “What’s My Name?” – Rihanna & Drake
  • “Party” – Beyoncé & André 3000

I’m glad Kelly Rowland, got the nomination here, as if she and Miguel both got snubbed for I’m not sure how I would feel about that. This one is easy for me, as Kanye is nominated for Song of the Year, while none of the others are not. You know what I am going to go out on a bit of limb here and go with an upset, “All of the Lights,” wasn’t a necessarily a great collaboration, so I’ll go out on a little bit of a limb here and pick Kelly Rowland for the upset.

Predicted Winner: “Motivation” – Kelly Rowland & Lil Wayne
Preferred Winner: “Motivation” – Kelly Rowland & Lil Wayne

Best Rap Song

  • “All Of The Lights” – (Performed by: Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie)
  • “Look At Me Now” – (Performed by: Chris Brown, Lil Wayne & Busta Rhymes)
  • “I Need A Doctor” – (Performed by: Dr. Dre, Eminem & Skylar Grey)
  • “The Show Goes On” – (Performed by: Lupe Fiasco)
  • “Black And Yellow” – (Performed by: Wiz Khalifa)
  • “Otis” – (Performed by: Jay-Z & Kanye West)

This awards leads more into Song of the Year, which Kanye is nominated for, so in my opinion, there is less wiggle room in this area. So I’ll go with Kanye for the win.

Predicted Winner: “All Of The Lights” – (Performed by: Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie)
Preferred Winner: “All Of The Lights” – (Performed by: Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie)

Best Rap Album

  • My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West
  • Watch The Throne – Jay-Z & Kanye West
  • Tha Carter IV – Lil Wayne
  • Pink Friday – Nicki Minaj
  • Lasers – Lupe Fiasco

Considering the fact that I, and many other people think Kanye West had the Album of the Year, this one should be obvious. It’s weird, because, Lasers, didn’t go over too well with even hardcore Lupe fans, and, Tha Carter IV, didn’t really get great reviews besides from the “Wayneheads,” as I like to call them. It’s between, Watch the Throne, and ‘Twisted Fantasy,’ so either way it’s a win for my boy, Yeezy.

Predicted Winner: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West
Preferred Winner: My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy – Kanye West

So there you have it, my picks for the trimmed down version of the Grammy Awards, how do you think I did with my picks? Hit the comments and let me know, also tell me your picks for “Music’s Biggest night.”

Subscribe to Our Posts, “Like Us” on Facebook, and follow Jean & Cody on Twitter!

More Grammy-related Posts:

About Mean Jean

I'm a very random person, and my mind is always going, so instead of being limited by Twitter and Facebook statuses. I decided to start a blog! Enjoy!

Posted on February 11, 2012, in Blogs, Jeanius Thoughts, Music, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

