Throwback Tuesday – Green Day “Brain Stew/Jaded”

(Photo By: Chase Greene)

Another Throwback Tuesday pick, another way to showcase how my mom is better than yours. This week I chose Green Day’s “Brain Stew/Jaded” as my song of the week. The two songs were released in 1996 as one single and you were lucky if you got to hear both on the radio. Back when radio wasn’t so washed down, the chances of hearing both of these were better than today. Radio stations usually just faded the song out after Brain Stew since the song transitioned right into Jaded. But let me say this, if you did hear both songs played, you probably should have played the lottery that night.

My mom is again tied into a throwback selection because she bought me this cassette tape. About a month ago I picked 311’s “Transistor” and wrote about how she bought me that album, which was my first ever CD. This Green Day cassette wasn’t my first, however, but I still remember it. I would listen to these two songs over and over again, and what made them so special, as I mentioned above, is that Brain Stew transitioned right into Jaded so the great music kept going.

While “Insomniac” isn’t my favorite Green Day record, it is the band’s third-best selling album behind “Dookie” and “American Idiot.” I liked Green Day up until the American Idiot album, despite the band “selling out,” but after that I couldn’t get into 21st Century Breakdown. I still think “Brain Stew/Jaded” is my favorite ‘song’ by the band, while Dookie will forever remain my favorite album.

Green Day “Brain Stew/Jaded”

What’s your favorite song/album from Green Day? Let us know!

Follow Myself and Jean on Twitter and Like us on Facebook!

Related Posts:

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Blogs, Music, Music Video, Throwback Tuesday, Throwbacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

