Thoughts Of A Jeanius Top 5: T.I. Songs

(Photo By: Chase Greene)

(T.I.)

So T.I. has been out of jail for a few weeks, and free from the halfway house for a week now. Hopefully by the time you read this T.I. will still be a free man, as I stated earlier this week when I posted some of his new music I would do my Thoughts of a Jeanius Top 5: T.I. Songs.  We are just about 10 years to the date of the release of his first album I’m Serious. I wasn’t feeling a lot of the new music T.I. has been putting out lately so don’t expect any of those songs to be on my list. Also remember that this is MY Top 5, and only five so clearly some good songs of his will be left off the list.

#5 “I’m Serious” (ft. Beenie Man)

For the #5 song we go way back to T.I.’s debut single from his album of the same name. The single features Reggae legend Beenie Man, in the track, which features classic Neptunes production was T.I.’s introduction to the business. On the track  he was letting the world know what his goals were in the music industry, and that he wasn’t just there to be a “flavor of the month.”

Some niggas wonder what my goal isThey think it’s goin gold havin hoes sweatin meFuck that, I’m in it for the longevityPicture me as one of the greatest that’ll ever beCompare me to, Tupac, B.I.G., and Jay-Z

10 years years later I think he has achieved that to some degree, even though he might have gone a little overboard with those comparisons, he has still had a respectable career.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

#4 “What You Know”

This is one of T.I.’s most popular, I know a lot of people hate that word when it comes to music, even though the goal of all artists it to become popular so they can make money, but that’s another blog for another day. This song is weird that it’s a hard song, but not too aggressive which allowed it to be a crossover song. It was also the single for his King album, which was the unofficial soundtrack to his big screen debut, ATL, even though he plays himself in just about every movie he’s in, but again that’s another post.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

#3 “Swagga Like Us” (ft. Kanye West, Jay Z, & Lil Wayne)

If you take two of the best and four of the hottest rappers in the game and put them on one track, (I’ll let you be the judge of who fits where in that statement), there’s no way you can’t be left with a hot ass track. Add the M.I.A. sample and you got a hit on your hands.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

#2 “Why You Wanna”

This song was my JAM when it came out, and it showed that T.I. wasn’t all about making hard music. This showed some versatility on the former Tip’s part, this was a chill song, using the Crystal Waters sample and making a hit with it!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

#1 “Get Loose” (ft. Nelly)

Now I know a lot of people are probably surprised that this is my favorite T.I. song, but if you know me you shouldn’t be surprised at all. His Urban Legend album came out between my 21st and 22nd birthday’s, and that was the height of my clubbing days when I would go out 4-5 nights a week and I remember going to Club Boca every Thursday night and this song would come on and everyone would get too krunk to this song. So this song has a special place in my heart haha.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

So what did you think of my list? What are you’re favorite T.I. songs? Hit the comments and let me know!!

Related Posts: 

About Mean Jean

I'm a very random person, and my mind is always going, so instead of being limited by Twitter and Facebook statuses. I decided to start a blog! Enjoy!

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Blogs, Music, Music Video, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 1. Swing ya rag
    2. Let’s Get Away
    3. Top Back
    4. Rubber band Man
    5. 24s

  2. I’m more new school TI, here’s mine:

    1. All She Wrote feat. Eminem
    2. What You Know
    3. Yeah Ya Know
    4. Top Back
    5. Rubber Band Man

  1. Pingback: In honor of the date 1/12/12 here is the Jeanius Top 5: 112 Songs « Thoughts Of A Jeanius

  2. Pingback: Jeanius Top 5: 112 Songs « Thoughts Of A Jeanius

Leave a Reply

