Throwback Thursday: The Best of MTV Unplugged (W/ Poll)

(Photo By: Chase Greene)

After picking my first Throwback song last week, I already had ideas for more. When Jean asked me to pick this week’s song for #ThrowbackThursday, I had one ready to fire off. I take you back to 1993 with Nirvana’s cover of “The Man Who Sold the World” recorded at MTV’s Unplugged in New York. This performance is significant because it was one of the last performance’s for Kurt Cobain, who died about 5 months later. When I think MTV Unplugged performances I immediately think Nirvana. Of course I come from a rock music background and might be more biased. Additionally, when I think Unplugged performances I only think of rock bands, not to take anything away from the likes of Jay-Z, Mariah Carey, and Lil Wayne. I think with the way radio is over saturated now days that the younger crowd would like to think Wayne and these newer performances were the best, when in all actuality that title belongs to Nirvana. Feel free to sound off here and let us know, Who do you think of when you think MTV Unplugged?

Mean Jean:

When I think about MTV Unplugged, first two artists I think of are Jay Z, this was right after high school and The Blueprint, was one of the first CD that I remember actually jammin’ out to, the Jay Z and Nas beef was one of the biggest things going at the time. Also, who else can forget about Mariah Carey’s flawless performance back in ’92. Another artist who comes to mind is Alicia Keys, who would be a no-brainer, we all know how much she loves that piano.

Nirvana – “The Man Who Sold The World” (Unplugged)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Mariah Carey – “I’ll Be There” (Unplugged)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Jay Z – “Takeover” (Unplugged)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Alicia Keys – “Fallin'” (Unplugged)

Who’s Your Favorite MTV Unplugged Artist?

Subscribe to Our Posts, “Like Us” on Facebook, and follow JeanCody, & Noire Femme on Twitter!

Check out the latest from Thoughts of a Jeanius:


Posted on September 22, 2011, in Music, Music Video, Thee Cody Taylor, Throwback Thursday, Throwbacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

